The Department (Chair) of Teaching Methodology was established in 1960 and incorporated all the profiled disciplines in the field of primary teaching and methodology, introduced since 1957.
In order to improve aesthetic upbringing in 1961-1962, the Chair of Pedagogy-Psychology and Polytechnic-Aesthetic Study of Primary Teaching was allocated from the Chair of Primary Teaching Methodology. Before 1985, two doctoral and 6 candidate dissertations were prepared at the Chair. The Chair was composed of 8 profiled disciplines. Their courses were conducted by qualified specialists, whose professional level and skill enhancement has always been an important focus for the Chair. The reforms implemented at the University in 2005 led to the change of the Chair title and it was called the Department of Teaching Methodology. In 1990-2006, six candidate dissertations were prepared at the Chair of Teaching Methodology and in 2008-2012 - four doctoral dissertations. Several monographs, manuals and supporting guide books were published.
The Department of Teaching Methodology unites three directions: 1. Methodology of Teaching Georgian Language and Literature; 2. Math Teaching Methodology; 3. Methodology of Teaching Natural Science.
The Department of Teaching Methodology is served by 3 professors, 13 associate professors and 1 assistant professor as academic staff. Specialists invited on contract and hourly basis with high competence are also serving at the department.

# Name, Surname Academic Position CV
1 Leila Abzianidze Full Professor
2 Manana Mikadze Full Professor
3 Giorgi Berdzulishvili Full Professor
4 Vladimer Adeishvili Associate Professor
5 Manana Deisadze Associate Professor
6 Shalva Kirtadze Associate Professor
7 Mamuli Buchukhishvili Associate Professor
8 Teimuraz Giorgadze Associate Professor
9 Manana Nikoleishvili Associate Professor
10 Tamar Gvinianidze Associate Professor
11 Tamar Mamardashvili Associate Professor
12 Jambu Avaliani Associate Professor
13 Malvina Shanidze Associate Professor
14 Lela Edzgveradze Associate Professor
15 Magda Tkhilava Associate Professor
16 Bakur Oniani Associate Professor
17 Irma Chkhikvadze Asistent-Professor